Day 15: Double D’s

Madagascar

Today we went on a double dive. One at 9am and 11am. I saw some of the coolest things. The ‘underwater world’ really is an entirely new world. Everything I saw down there, I was seeing for the first time. How many things have you seen today, that you’re seeing for the first time? Probably not much. I now know how babies feel. At one point I was swimming beside this bubbly structure the size of 2 minivans stacked on top of each other. I saw an anemone and it looked exactly the same as they do on Nemo. I also saw a crown of thorns – incredibly dangerous with a bad ass defense mechanism. If attacked, they release millions of eggs to re/over populate.

Crown of Thorns

Crown of Thorns

Our ‘after dive’ routine is proving to be an awesome ritual of our day. After each dive we unpack the boats, clean our gear and then have shifts in the shower. Promptly after showering the sun dries our skin and 30 minutes of tanning ensues before we head to lunch.

Another beautiful sun set tonight. I swear they keep getting better every night. There was a huge ‘rhino bee’ in our room tonight. Scary. And I also saw my first snake on site. Luckily, it was just little.

Getting ready to head to our dive site! The name of this boat was Mada Blue.

Getting ready to head to our dive site! The name of this boat was Mada Blue.

 

One thought on “Day 15: Double D’s

Leave a Reply

