The trouble is…

Uncategorized

“The trouble is, you think you have the time.”

Right up there with ‘Carpe Diem‘, I find this quote of Buddha’s  to be an inspiring dose of reality. You think you’ll have the time to do all the things you want to do. One day, you’ll get around it. You’re too busy now, but later will be a great time to do it. Far too often I find myself wanting to do something and I never actually get around to doing it. The excuses I make for not doing things sound a lot like, “that’s too much money” or “I’m too busy”. That simple phrase, I’m too busy, gets thrown around like body fat in the new year and it’s made me do a lot of thinking about why I was living a life that was too busy. Since the beginning of time, people have all experienced the same amount of hours in a day. What makes some people busier than others? Is being busy circumstantial? Is it a choice? Thanks to an app on my phone (that doesn’t get nearly enough attention), I have seen some words that perfectly describe how I feel about this concept of being really busy

You must control your schedule or it will control you. A lot of people seem to be really, really busy. When they are too busy and stressed, it’s like a badge they want to present to the world that makes people know they are really busy. The concept of being really busy seems to be a crutch for a lot of people. They don’t focus on their health, plan their finances, give time to people they say are important to them, or do the things they really want to do, because they are too darn busy. Well, that is flawed thinking and a bunch of baloney! People are too busy because they don’t control their schedule and they allow less important people and things distract them from what is really important. You must be intentional with your schedule and make time for the important things.

So, here’s to 2014, being intentional and in control. Doing the things I say I’ll do. Being happy.

I have created a schedule of activities I am wanting to do this year. A Bucket list, if you will, of  things I not only want  to do, but things I will do.

2014: Being less ‘busy’ and filling my bucket with happy memories!

One thought on “The trouble is…

  1. Love this post! Very interesting that being busy can be a choice. I like that. This year I too, will choose to do the things I want! Can I get a hell yeah?!

Leave a Reply

